ProLife

24Jan09

*Sigh*

Abortion… I’m so sick of hearing about it, yet my mathematically-inclined mind is driven to believe that this problem has a solution. And like all solutions to profound problems, I doubt it will be as simple a solution as some would lead us to believe.

Like so many other hot-button issues in the Christian world, I’m almost afraid to ask these tough questions for fear of judgment and criticism from my Christian peers. But I know God wants me to reason through this life with Him so those who have a problem can take it up with Him I suppose. So here it goes:

1) Does life really begin at conception, according to God? Is the abortion issue even relevant to our spiritual journey? I honestly don’t mean to suggest that it isn’t–this isn’t a rhetorical question. I genuinely don’t know the answer. I do strongly believe that the issue is used and abused as cannon-fodder for our political hate game. I do find fault with Christians (and non-Christians, but I tend to hold those who “speak for God” at a higher standard) for taking an issue that truly affects people in a real and emotional way and use it with false sincerity as a means of attacking an opponent. Before we can do good, I think we have to want to do good. Change really does begin within us. We really need to grow up.

2) Should the government meddle in the matter? (Or: can I oppose abortion as a moral choice like I can oppose lying, and oppose government involvement in the matter?) I can see this question as having many different answers. I’m inclined to believe that abortion is murder (not in a judgmental way derived from Christian dogmaticism, but from my own personal thought processes). Because of this, I would say that a government should have as much right to forbid abortion as it does any other kind of intentional killing, for the most part. However, I’m also increasingly inclined to believe that (from a spiritual perspective) Government should really have very limited control over anything. I think that our desire for order via laws and government speaks volumes about our legalistic nature–our desire for rules and laws over freedom–in a way that is directly comparable to our preference for rules from God over a free relationship with Him. The important issue here, I think, is that we question exactly what our government should do, control us with many laws or free us with few. It appears to be a continuum on which we sacrifice something no matter what we choose (except unless we choose to accept the idea that selflessly loving people will change them thereby building the kingdom of God and making government unnecessary, but let’s ignore that and be realists. /sarcasm). I think this thought process has a lot of implications outside of abortion and is actually very profound in nature so both as a result and because of this, I’m not going to go too in depth with it here.

Honestly, I don’t know… I can’t sincerely tell you that I feel strongly about the abortion issue in terms of national policy. Much like homosexuality, I’m against it morally, but I don’t think it’s the government’s job to enforce the “laws” of the Church (that is to say, I don’t think the government should ban it on spiritual grounds any more than I think they should ban homosexuality “because the Church says to”). After writing this little diddy, I can’t help but feel like the real problem isn’t abortion, it’s an America who pretends to give a damn about the issue so as to hurt the other team. A dogmatic and divided nation of equally ignorant, opposing beliefs. This is why I (and probably Rick Warren and millions of other Americans) like Obama–we may disagree with his policy, but we find value in our beliefs that he is honestly seeking righteousness and not just supporting his team dogmatically. But then again, that’s just our opinions of him.

What do you think? (about the whole issue, not specifically Obama).

No Responses Yet to “ProLife”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

