Homosexuality

28Jul09

I’m sure I’ve wrote written about this somewhere, albeit probably in brevity (or in full, but only on Facebook?)… at any rate, I couldn’t find anything in detail on this blog (I was so sure I’d written about it that I searched my own small blog for several minutes).

Anyways, in spite of my write-as-I-go style which all-too-often leads me to the furthest tangents possible, I can already all-but-assure you this post won’t stop on homosexuality, but will instead spend a lot of time in the matter of what sin is and how very different it is from our subculture’s conception of it (one could say that Satan has done a good job of disguising his work so that our notion of what sin is looks only subtly different from what God says it is, on first glance at least).

Anyways, onto the subject at hand… From an objective standpoint, a person can make the statement that homosexuality is talked about negatively in most of the Bible (at least so far as we can understand the language and culture can interpret the Bible, which, mind you, isn’t far). This is about all we can say objectively about the Bible (objectively meaning “from what can be understood from the text alone, with no influence from other sources, including the Spirit”).

Unfortunately, our little subculture has a bad habit of making statements that “the Bible says ‘X’…” when the Bible doesn’t say ‘X’ (even though our subculture is oft preceded with the term “Christian” it is still a kind of worldliness, again in a “subtle” way). At best we can say “I believe the Bible says ‘X’…” or “The Bible appears to say ‘X’…”. Moreover, just because Biblical characters say or do something (even if the character isn’t necessarily reprimanded for it) doesn’t mean it is God-approved (for instance, David had multiple wives and God tolerated this, but our “Christian subculture” generally says that polygamy is wrong in God’s eyes–so there’s a logical disconnect somewhere).

Anyways, because the Bible seems to say that homosexuality is wrong, I roll with it, even though I can’t say I’ve been lead by the Spirit to really understand that it is wrong or destructive as I have with other sins. Additionally, I haven’t experienced homosexuality in my immediate life as none of my close friends are homosexual, to my knowledge.

And here is where I zoom out and the topic becomes an example of a larger lesson: because my stance on the issue of homosexuality comes from my human [read “fallible”] understanding of the Bible and not from the Spirit’s [read “perfect”] conviction, I’m not going to tell someone that their lifestyle is wrong in God’s sight, especially if that person has been lead to that conclusion by the Spirit (remember, the Spirit authored the Bible–or at least that’s the accepted belief of our dear subculture and me–and therefore has more authority on the matter than we do).

On that note, me taking that person’s word that homosexuality is right is no better than me taking our subculture’s word that it is wrong. Ultimately, I know nothing until the Spirit shows me. I can be unsure of that person’s ability to recognize the Spirit’s voice as much as I can of our subculture, so I must rest in the scary world of “I don’t know” where I can only trust that God is doing his job by telling people who need to know, what it is that they need to know.

And, to conclude on this larger-lesson, I think it’s worth pointing out that regardless of whether we know or not, the Bible seems to indicate that it is never okay to reject someone based on how well they meet our expectations of what a “good Christ-follower” should look like. Biblically speaking, Jesus never rejected anyone, and everyone fell short of his moral standard. Moreover, he actually knew for sure that people were behaving sinfully and had authority to judge and reject them (and us) if he saw fit. Additionally, Jesus oft reprimanded those who judged and rejected others in God’s name but without God’s authority to do so (they took His name in vain). Matthew 23:13 is one of roughly a bazillion verses in which Jesus deals with the Pharisees on this issue (I might be exaggerating a little).

No Responses Yet to “Homosexuality”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

